Stuff We Love: A Feast for Ice and Fire cookbook serves up delicious Game of Thrones delectables

Contributed by
Sep 6, 2017

There’s nothing I love more than food. Sure, my husband is great, and my family isn’t too bad. But that’s just peanuts compared to food.

I also love George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, the book series on which HBO's Game of Thrones is based. Add the two together, and you get a cookbook dedicated to all things Icy and Fiery: Chelsea Monroe-Cassel and Sariann Lehrer’s fabulous A Feast of Ice and Fire.

The cookbook breaks its recipes down by region—the Wall, the North, the South, King’s Landing, Dorne, and Across the Narrow Sea—rather than by meal. Interestingly, some recipes have two versions: one modern and one medieval, which makes sense considering Martin’s War of the Roses source material. The historical versions are more complex, with ingredients you can’t find at the local market, but the book’s intro provides substitutions, just in case you want to go medieval on your cookware.

a feast of ice and fire

Book readers know that when Martin isn’t killing off our favorite characters, he lavishes attention on consumables, frequently with multiple paragraphs spent fingers-deep in the dish of the moment. Love lemon cakes as much as Sansa? There’s a recipe that will sweeten and pucker your mouth. Need to warm up on a cold, wet night? Warm your bones with Sister’s Stew.

This cookbook started life as a blog, The Inn at the Crossroads. But until GRRM puts out The Winds of Winter, we can't expect an influx of new recipes. So in the interim, Crossroads has created imaginative delights for fans of World of Warcraft, Star Wars, and The Elder Scrolls.

This cookbook helps me better connect with the novels and characters I love. Westeros is a dangerous place, and I wouldn't want to live there. But thanks to this book, at least I can visit long enough for a good meal.