Where We Live: 150 creators uniting on Image's benefit comic for Las Vegas shooting victims

Contributed by
Mar 28, 2018, 4:40 PM EDT (Updated)

Last October, music fans in Las Vegas were attacked during a concert festival in the deadliest mass shooting in the history of this nation. Now, over 150 comic book creators -- including big names like Neil Gaiman, Brian Michael Bendis, Mike Mignola, and Mark Millar -- are coming together for an anthology that will benefit the survivors and victims of the incident in Vegas.

Where We Live: Las Vegas Shooting Benefit Anthology is being put together by J.H. Williams III, Wendy Wright-Williams, Will Dennis, and Image Comics’ Publisher, Eric Stephenson. 100% of the proceeds will be donated to the survivors’ GoFundMe campaign. This anthology is made up of eyewitness accounts and fictional stories that will explore a variety of perspectives, as well as the impact of gun violence and gun control.


SYFY WIRE's Henry Barajas is one of the contributing writers for Where We Live, and he took the time to tell us how he became involved with the project.

“I had the honor of interviewing Stephanie Ballou and telling her eyewitness account of that tragic evening. She shared intimate details that you can only know having been there, and emotional trauma that she will have to carry for the rest of her life," said Barajas.

"I recruited artist Isaac Goodhart to draw the script I wrote based on Stephanie’s significant recollection of what transpired, and Kelly Fitzpatrick volunteered to color the pages. Honestly, the art team and I were not prepared for the heart-rending impact from watching the cellphone footage and news reports," continued Barajas. "You think you’d be desensitized from the constant gun violence you read in the news, but that wasn’t the case. I wanted to tell Stephanie's story to the best of my abilities, and also help raise money for the rest of the Route 91 victims with the power of comics.”

Where We Live will have 300 pages of stories when it is released on May 30. The complete lineup of creative teams is included below.

  • Michael Allred & Laura Allred
  • Henry Barajas, Isaac Goodhart & Kelly Fitzpatrick
  • Jennifer Battisti, Geof Darrow, Dave Stewart & Bernardo Brice
  • Jennifer Battisti & J.H. Williams III
  • Brian Michael Bendis, Michael Oeming, Taki Soma & Bernardo Brice
  • Haden Blackman & Richard Pace 
  • Haden Blackman, J.H. Williams III & Todd Klein
  • Jeff Boison & Tyler Boss 
  • Ivan Brandon, Paul Azaceta & Bernardo Brice
  • Ryan Burton, Tony Parker, Dee Cunniffe & Bernardo Brice
  • Kurt Busiek, Andrew Maclean, Lee Loughridge & JG Roshell (at Comicraft)
  • Amy Chu, Gabriel Hernandez Walta & Alexander Chang
  • Rachel Crosby, J.H. Williams III & Bernardo Brice
  • Al Davison
  • Kelly Sue DeConnick, Joelle Jones, Dave Stewart & Bernardo Brice 
  • J.M. DeMatteis & Mike Cavallaro
  • Gustavo Duarte 
  • Aaron Duran, Joe Mulvey, Jules Rivera & Bernardo Brice
  • Joshua Dysart, Pere Perez & Bernardo Brice
  • Pierce Elliott & Monica Gallagher
  • Joshua Ellis, Jeff Lemire & Bernardo Brice
  • Lucia Fasano, Tess Fowler & Bernardo Brice
  • Ray Fawkes
  • Joshua Hale Fialkov, Noel Tuazon & Bernardo Brice
  • Neil Gaiman, J.H. Williams III & Todd Klein
  • Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Dee Cunniffe & Clayton Cowles
  • Brandon Graham
  • Justin Gray & John Broglia 
  • Lela Gwenn & Matthew Dow Smith 
  • Matt Hawkins, Aaron Campbell, Dee Cunniffe & Bernardo Brice
  • Daniel Hernandez, Moritat & Casey Silver
  • Talia Hershewe, Jock & Bernardo Brice 
  • David Hine, Brian Haberlin & Geirrod Van Dyke
  • Joe Illidge, Ray-Anthony Height, Andrew Dalhouse & Deron Bennet
  • Van Jensen, Eric Kim, Chris O'Halloran & Bernardo Brice
  • Scott David Johnson, Phil Hester, Eric Gapstur, Mark Englert & Bernardo Brice
  • Justin Jordan, Tom Fowler & Taylor Esposito 
  • Jarret Keene, Craig Cermak, Marissa Louise & Taylor Esposito
  • Neil Kleid & Nick Pitarra 
  • Greg Lockard, Tim Fish, Michael J DiMotta & Sal Cipriano
  • Ollie Masters, Jason Harris, Sina Grace & Shaun Steven Struble 
  • Mariah McCourt, Ariela Kristantina, Bryan Valenza & Bernardo Brice
  • Mike Mignola & Dave Stewart 
  • Mark Millar, Alex Sheikman, Marissa Louise & Bernardo Brice
  • Gary Spencer Millidge
  • Fabio Moon
  • B. Clay Moore, Kelly Williams & Chas! Pangburn
  • Greg Pak, Triona Farrell & Simon Bowland
  • Alex Paknadel, Chris Wildgoose, Triona Farrell & Aditya Bidikar
  • Curt Pires, Matt Lesniewski & Alex Petretich
  • Christina Rice, Richard Pace & Bernardo Brice
  • Darick Robertson, R. Eric Lieb & Christopher Crank 
  • James Robinson, Dean Kotz, Stefano Gaudiano & Casey Silver
  • Robert Rose & Matt Strackbein
  • Chris Ryall, Gabriel Rodriguez, Nelson Daniel & Bernardo Brice 
  • Rafael Scavone, Rafael Albuquerque, Patricia Mulvihill & Bernardo Brice
  • Erica Schultz, Liana Kangas & Cardinal Rae
  • Alex Segura, Marco Finnegan, Kelsey Shannon & Janice Chiang
  • Gail Simone, Ryan Kelly, Giulia Brusco & Bernardo Brice 
  • Matthew Dow Smith & Michael Gaydos 
  • Matt Sorvillo & Sean Phillips
  • Jason Starr, Andrea Mutti, Vladimir Popov & Bernardo Brice 
  • Cameron Stewart 
  • Larime Taylor & Sylv Taylor
  • Paul Tobin, Dustin Weaver & Bernardo Brice
  • David Walker, Damon Smith & Motherboxx Studios
  • Malachi Ward 
  • Rob Williams & Javier Pulido
  • Scott Bryan Wilson & Cliff Chiang
  • Chris Wisnia, Bill Sienkiewicz & Jeromy Cox
  • Wendy Wright-Williams, J.H. Williams III & Todd Klein
  • Warren Wucinich