1st Walking Dead novel gets title, cover and villain of the year

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012

With the second season of The Walking Dead so far away, what's a zombie lover to do? Luckily, it looks like before the AMC series returns, we'll be able to chomp into the further adventures of Robert Kirkman's post-apocalyptic characters ... in a novel.

Rise of the Governor, which will be written by Kirkman and Stoker Award-nominated horror novelist Jay Bonansinga, is the first of a trilogy, and here's how the book's described over at Amazon:

Following in the footsteps of the New York Times bestselling graphic novels and the record-breaking new television show, this debut novel in a trilogy of original Walking Dead books chronicles the back story of the comic book series greatest villain, The Governor.

In the Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than the Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it's forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople's amusement, or chopping off the appendages of those who cross him. The Governor was voted "Villain of the Year" by Wizard Magazine the year he debuted, and his story arc was the most controversial arc in the history of the Walking Dead comic-book series. Now, for the first time, fans of The Walking Dead will discover how the Governor became the man he is, and what drove him to such extremes.

And since the first-season character of Merle Dixon, played by Michael Rooker, is rumored to [*spoiler ahead*] return in the second season as the Governor, it sounds like it might be a good idea to learn a bit more about that villain of the year ...

(via Bleeding Cool)

Make Your Inbox Important

Get our newsletter and you’ll be delivered the most interesting stories, videos and interviews weekly.

Sign-up breaker