2009 Arthur C. Clarke Award finalists announced

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

Ian R. MacLeod, Paul McAuley, Alastair Reynolds, Neal Stephenson, Sheri S. Tepper and Mark Wernham are the six authors shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2009, the prestigious U.K. prize for science fiction literature.

The annual award is presented for the best science fiction novel of the year, and selected from a list of novels whose U.K. first edition was published in the previous calendar year. The award was established with a grant from Arthur C. Clarke, best known for his novel 2001: A Space Odyssey. The award was first given in 1987.

This year's six finalists are:

Song of Time, Ian R. MacLeod (PS Publishing)
The Quiet War, Paul McAuley (Gollancz)
House of Suns, Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)
Anathem, Neal Stephenson (Atlantic)
The Margarets, Sheri S. Tepper (Gollancz)
Martin Martin's on the Other Side, Mark Wernham (Jonathan Cape)

A prize of £2009 will be awarded to the winner along with a commemorative engraved bookend.

The winner will be announced on April 29 at an award ceremony held on the opening night of the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.