2016 Nebula Award winners announced

Contributed by
May 22, 2017, 12:13 PM EDT (Updated)

Readers, get ready to add more books onto your precariously perched pile: The Nebula Award winners have been announced.

No, not the Hugo Awards. That’s the award given to members of the World Science Fiction Society, a membership that can be purchased each year. This is the Nebulas, the award of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America; only members of SFWA can nominate and vote. (Some exceptionally talented writers win both.)

And the winners are:


All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)

Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)

The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Ninefox Gambit,Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)

Everfair, Nisi Shawl (Tor)


Runtime, S.B. Divya ( Publishing)

The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson ( Publishing)

The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)

Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

“The Liar”, John P. Murphy (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)


“The Long Fall Up”, William Ledbetter (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

“Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed)

“Blood Grains Speak Through Memories”, Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)

“The Orangery”, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)*

The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde ( Publishing)

“You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny)

Short Story

“Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny)

“Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

“Sabbath Wine”, Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

“Things With Beards”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld)

“This Is Not a Wardrobe Door”, A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Magazine)

“A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong (

“Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0”, Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics

Doctor Strange, Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures

Kubo and the Two Strings, Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika Entertainment

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucasfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures

Westworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind’’, Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBO

Zootopia, Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers)

The Star-Touched Queen, Roshani Chokshi (St. Martin’s)

The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK; Abrams)

Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor)

Railhead, Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press; Switch)

Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies, Lindsay Ribar (Kathy Dawson Books)

The Evil Wizard Smallbone, Delia Sherman (Candlewick)


Want to read some of the wonderful nominees and winners? The Verge posted links to some of the entries, which you can find here:

Congrats to the winners. Congrats to the nominees who didn't win, too, as being nominated is an honor in itself.

(Via File770)