1st look at Guardians of the Galaxy concept art + 5 new Marvel logos

Contributed by
Dec 17, 2012

Marvel Studios announced some big news about its upcoming slate at its Comic-Con panel tonight, confirming the fate of one film while giving two others new subtitles—and one of them is mind-blowing.

First, Marvel Studios head Kevin Feige officially announced that the fourth movie of Marvel's "phase two," following its Iron Man, Thor and Captain America sequels, will definitely be Guardians of the Galaxy. He even unveiled the lineup of the team of galactic superheroes: Starlord, Drax the Destroyer, Gamora, Groot and, of course, Rocket Raccoon (there is something somewhat hallucinatory about typing that last name).

Marvel fans will note that this is not the classic Guardians team from 1969, which featured folks like Vance Astro, Martinex T'Naga and Yondu. This is the 2008 version, which has ties to Thanos, which means he might show up in this movie before we meet him again in The Avengers 2. No Adam Warlock announced ... yet.

Guardians comes out Aug. 1, 2014. In the meantime, Marvel also announced the full titles for its next two sequels beyond Iron Man 3. They are Thor: The Dark World and Captain America: The Winter Soldier (yes!), the latter meaning that you could probably place a pretty good bet that the missing and presumed dead Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) is coming back as a brainwashed operative of one of Cap's deadliest enemies.

Thor: The Dark World arrives on Nov. 8, 2014, while Captain America: The Winter Soldier will fly into theaters on April 4, 2014. And don't forget Iron Man 3 next May!

And that's a wrap from the Marvel panel! Lots to discuss ... so get started!

Make Your Inbox Important

Get our newsletter and you’ll be delivered the most interesting stories, videos and interviews weekly.

Sign-up breaker
Sign out: