Atlantis rides above the waves

Contributed by
May 23, 2010

The Space Shuttle Atlantis will undock from the International Space Station for the last time Sunday at 11:22 a.m. EDT (15:22 UT), and is scheduled to land at Kennedy Space Center on May 26 at 08:48 ET (12:48 UT). This image was taken during the last scheduled mission of Atlantis, still attached to the ISS as it orbits over the ocean. You can watch how it go there, too: NASA has uploaded incredible video from cameras located on the solid rocket boosters during launch.

Image credit: NASA

Make Your Inbox Important

Get our newsletter and you’ll be delivered the most interesting stories, videos and interviews weekly.

Sign-up breaker