Aurealis winners are named

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

Winners of this year's Aurealis Awards, given for the best works of Australian SF and fantasy, have been announced. The award has been presented annually since 1995 and is administered by nonprofit organization Fantastic Queensland, in partnership with Chimaera Publications. A complete list of winners follows.

Best Science Fiction Novel: Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait by K.A. Bedford
Best Science Fiction Short Story: "The Empire" by Simon Brown
Best Fantasy Novel: The Two Pearls of Wisdom by Alison Goodman
Best Fantasy Short Story: "Sammarynda Deep" by Cat Sparks
Best Horror Novel: The Seance by John Harwood
Best Horror Short Story: "Painlessness" by Kirstyn McDermott
Best Anthology: The Starry Rift, Jonathan Strahan, ed.
Best Collection: Magic Dirt: The Best of Sean Williams by Sean Williams, Russell B. Farr, ed.
Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: Tales From Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan
Best Young Adult Novel: Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
Best Young Adult Short Story: "Cracks" by Trent Jamieson
Best Children's Novel: The Wizard of Rondo by Emily Rodda
Best Children's Illustrated Work/Picture Book: The Wolf Kingdom series by Richard Harland; Laura Peterson, illustrator
Peter McNamara Convenors' Award for Excellence: Jack Dann