Class cast

Axed Doctor Who spinoff Class back in session for series of audio adventures

Contributed by
Jun 1, 2018, 10:37 AM EDT

Fans of the Doctor Who spinoff Class can now breathe a small sigh of relief. The series created by Young Adult author Patrick Ness — which was axed after only one season of eight episodes — will return as a series of audio dramas.

Big Finish Productions has announced that Class will be back in session in August 2018 with six new adventures spread across two volumes. The new stories will feature original cast members Greg Austin (Charlie Smith), Fady Elsayed (Ram Singh), Sophie Hopkins (April MacLean), Vivian Oparah (Tanya Adeola), Jordan Renzo (Matteusz Andrzejewski), and Katherine Kelly (Miss Andrea Quill). Also back for an encore is original series composer Blair Mowat.

The students of Coal Hill Academy (which made its debut in the first Doctor Who episode, “An Unearthly Child,” in 1963 and appeared in numerous episodes since) will be crossing paths with characters from the Whoniverse, including the Seventh Doctor’s (Sylvester McCoy) companion, Ace, played by Sophie Aldred. The audio adventure titled “In Remembrance” and penned by Guy Adams will take place following Ace’s previous TV encounter with the deadly space pepperpots in “Remembrance of the Daleks.”

“It’s a real thrill, having brought Torchwood back on audio, to do the same all over again with another slice of the Doctor Who universe, and to play in a world created by Patrick Ness,” said director and producer Scott Handcock. “The characters and their relationships are key to the success of a series like Class, and the intimacy of the audio medium allows us to bring that to the fore. We’ve had a great deal of fun reuniting the original cast for the audio series, telling brand-new stories set within the TV run, whilst tackling a host of alien menaces. Of course I couldn’t resist linking up to the Doctor Who universe, and bringing Ace and the Daleks into the world of Class has been an absolute treat. And for full authenticity, we’re lucky to have series composer Blair Mowat return to the world of Class as well.”

Here are the titles for the six Class audio adventures which are set during the TV series, followed by their writers (Ness will not be penning any of the new stories):

1.1 “Gifted” by Roy Gill

1.2 “Life Experience” by Jenny T Colgan

1.3 “Tell Me You Love Me” by Scott Handcock

2.1 “Everyone Loves Reagan” by Tim Foley

2.2 “Now You Know…” by Tim Leng

2.3 “In Remembrance” by Guy Adams

Class first aired in 2016 in the UK, but it wasn’t until April 2017 that it debuted in the U.S. The show was officially canceled in September of 2017 following poor ratings and generally mixed reviews.

Are you looking forward to returning to Coal Hill Academy for a new series of adventures?

(via Big Finish)