EXCLUSIVE: Dark Horse to re-release Geof Darrow's original Shaolin Cowboy series

Contributed by
Feb 6, 2018, 8:42 AM EST (Updated)

You'll soon be able to get your hands on one of the 21st century's most acclaimed and hard-to-find comic book series, as SYFY WIRE can exclusively reveal that Geof Darrow's classic seven-issue series that introduced the Shaolin Cowboy is finally being reprinted.

Dark Horse Comics is reprinting all seven issues of Shaolin Cowboy in a brand-new hardcover collection set for release on July 11. Titled Shaolin Cowboy: Start Trek, it marks the first-ever hardcover edition for the legendary series, which was originally published by Burleyman Entertainment beginning in 2004.

This new collection features a brand-new cover drawn by Darrow and colored by Dave Stewart, which you can see below. The original series won Darrow the Eisner Award for Best Writer/Artist in 2006. Darrow scripted and drew all seven issues, with color work by Pete Doherty, Alex Wald, and Lovern Kindzierski. In addition to those original issues, the new collection will include Shaolin Cowboy renditions by such noted artists as Moebius, Richard Delgado, Mike Mignola, Kevin Nowland, and John Severin.


Shaolin Cowboy has earned a devoted following due to the series' sprawling and almost-impossible-to-describe fight sequences, as well as Darrow's inimitable attention to detail with his pencils. That devotion from fans is particularly noteworthy because of the patience they show; Darrow often takes years in between releasing new adventures of the former monk.

As he told SYFY WIRE last year in an extensive interview, he's not the fastest draw in the West, because he prefers to take the extra time to make what he's working on extra special. We think it's fair to say that releases like Shemp Buffet and last year's Who'll Stop the Reign? have been worth the wait for those who enjoy gloriously bloody and often blurb-free fisticuffs and mayhem.

Shaolin Cowboy: Start Trek from Dark Horse Comics hits comics shops on July 11 and arrives in bookstores July 17.