cyber force.png

Exclusive preview: Top Cow resurrects Marc Silvestri's classic with relaunch of Cyber Force #1

Contributed by
Mar 27, 2018, 9:20 PM EDT

Marc Silvestri's Cyber Force was one of the heavy-hitting titles that came out of Image Comics' revolution of 1992, blending riveting artwork with dynamic storytelling to create an instant classic.

The slick superhero book centered around a strike team of cybernetically enhanced mutants and lasted for a total of 35 issues before fading out on a final mission in 1997. It introduced the memorable characters of Ripclaw, Stryker, Cyblade, Heatwave, Velocity, Ballistic, and Impact by following their ongoing struggle against the nefarious Cyberdata corporate empire.

first cyber force.jpg

Now the Image imprint Top Cow Studios is resurrecting the scintillating Cyber Force in a fresh ongoing series captained by Marc Silvestri himself! Written by Matt Hawkins (Warframe) and Bryan Hill (Bonehead) and paired with art by Atilio Rojo (Samaritan), it showcases a poignant dissertation on the perils of technology and transhumanism with a retina-pleasing array of vibrant, color-saturated artwork.


Here's the official solicitation synopsis:

TO PROTECT THE FUTURE, WHAT WILL WE BECOME? The classic series returns in a reimagining overseen by creator MARC SILVESTRI. In a modern world where humanity is defined by the technology it creates, a terrorist strikes at the heart of human progress. One of the few survivors of the attack is a man named Morgan Stryker. Mortally wounded, Stryker's life is saved by his employers... but the price could be his humanity itself.

Blast into SYFY WIRE's exclusive 9-page peek at Cyber Force #1 below, and tell us if it takes you back to a simpler, more civilized age of superheroes.

Top Cow's Cyber Force #1 strikes comic shops on March 28.