Valiant Breakthrough Hero

Exclusive: Valiant Entertainment unveils Breakthrough lineup for 2019 with four limited series

Contributed by
Dec 12, 2018, 11:39 AM EST

After restoring the key legacy titles in the modern day with runs like X-O Manowar and Shadowman, Valiant Comics readers are wondering what the next big thing will be in the new year. Valiant Entertainment is announcing the launch of four limited series slated for their Spring 2019 lineup, which they are calling Breakthrough. 

“I’m incredibly excited to reveal Breakthrough, the next step in the continued success of the Valiant Universe that builds toward a full year of exciting announcements," Valiant Senior Editorial Director Robert Meyers tells SYFY WIRE. "These are extraordinary stories told by master storytellers, featuring comics’ most compelling villain, Toyo Harada; the main stage debut of Punk Mambo; the evolution of the future; and perhaps the scariest assembly of superspies the Valiant Universe has ever seen. I can’t wait to reveal what else is in store for 2019!” 

Read below to see the debut Breakthrough lineup:

The Life and Death of Toyo Harada Valiant Promo

The Life and Death of Toyo Harada Valiant #1 by Joshua Dysart and CAFU and Mico Suayan - March 2019

THE LIFE AND DEATH OF TOYO HARADA #1 (of 6) - March 2019

Written by Joshua Dysart
Art by CAFU, Mico Suayan, and a rotating lineup of guest artists
Cover by Mico Suayan

Originally announced at this past New York Comic Con, Eisner-winning writer Joshua Dysart (Harbinger, Unknown Soldier) returns to the Valiant Universe helming a title featuring the world's most powerful superhuman, Toyo Harada, CEO of Harada Global Conglomerates and secretly the head of the Harbinger Foundation, dedicated to recruit and develop young telekinetics called "psiots" like he once was. Recently, the Harbinger Foundation was destroyed by a massive psychic episode suffered by Harada, and out of its ashes he emerges, wanted and exposed, looking to impose his will on everyone.

Punk Mambo Valiant Promo

Punk Mambo by Cullen Bunn and Adam Gorham - April 2019 - Promo Art by Cris Delara

PUNK MAMBO #1 (of 5) - April 2019

Written by Cullen Bunn
Art by Adam Gorham
Promo Art by Cris Delara

Dark magic, the UK punk scene and the Valiant superhero universe converge in this five-issue limited series, about a British voodoo priestess lurking just outside of New Orleans, who unleashes a supernatural adventure with equal parts terror and humor. Debuting in the pages of Shadowman #13 in the story titled, "Fear, Blood, and Shadows Part I: Sniffing Glue" by Peter Milligan and Roberto De La Torre, Punk Mambo was also featured 2014 digital exclusive comic, Punk Mambo #0 by Peter Milligan and Robert Gill. Bunn and Gorham look to bring Punk Mambo into the spotlight as a name to know in 2019.

Fallen World Valiant Promo

Fallen World by Dan Abnett and Adam Pollina - May 2019 - Promo Art by AJ Jothikumar

FALLEN WORLD #1 (of 5) - May 2019

Written by Dan Abnett
Art by Adam Pollina
Promo Art by AJ Jothikumar

Continuing their futuristic tales forged in the 4001 AD line, Fallen World is a five-issue event series that will draw readers into a captivating cyberpunk future with the fate of humanity under seige. It is now the year 4002 AD, and the cyborg samurai called Rai looks to stand in the way of an ominous threat.

Killers Valiant Promo

Killers by B. Clay Moore and Fernando Dagnino - July 2019 - Promo Art by Grey Williamson

KILLERS #1 (of 5) - July 2019

Written by B. Clay Moore
Art by Fernando Dagnino
Promo Art by Grey Williamson

B. Clay Moore (Hawaiian Dick) brings his trademark quick-paced, thrill-seeking storytelling to Valiant through a contest between the deadliest superspies on the planet as they compete for the ultimate prize.