Expelling an asteroid

Contributed by
Sep 4, 2008

The European Rosetta mission is on its way to rendezvous with a comet (and deploy a lander!), but on its way there it's making a flyby of an asteroid. Called 2867 Steins (wondering about the title of this post?), the rock is about 5 kilometers across (roughly as big as the mountains I see out my window), and Rosetta will pass just 800 kilometers from it. The encounter will happen on Friday September 5 at 20:58:16 CEST (18:58 UT or 14:58 Eastern US time).

Emily, as always, has the info. That link goes to a specific blog post, but keep her blog handy on Friday and this weekend. She'll be posting more, as will I, including pictures from the flyby. Rosetta also has a blog of its own, which will no doubt have even more.

Make Your Inbox Important

Get our newsletter and you’ll be delivered the most interesting stories, videos and interviews weekly.

Sign-up breaker
Sign out: