Finalists named for Philip K. Dick Award

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

Finalists have been announced for this year's Philip K. Dick Award, which recognizes distinguished science fiction published as "paperback originals" in the United States.

This year's nominees are Emissaries From the Dead by Adam-Troy Castro, Endgame by Kristine Smith, Fast Forward 2 edited by Lou Anders, Judge by Karen Traviss, Terminal Mind by David Walton and Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait by K. A. Bedford.

The award is named for the prolific SF writer whose works inspired such films as Blade Runner and Total Recall. The annual award is presented with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust and is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society.

When Dick was in his prime as a writer, he was not the household name he is today. Most of his work was first published in paperback originals, and so one of the award's goals is to help raise awareness of books published in this format and to keep such books from being relegated to obscurity.

The first-place winner and runners-up will be announced April 10 at Norwescon 32 in Seattle.

Past winners of the award include William Gibson's classic Neuromancer. More recent winners include Altered Carbon by Richard K. Morgan, Life by Gwyneth Jones, War Surfby M.M. Buckner and Spin Control by Chris Moriarty. Last year's award went to Nova Swing by M. John Harrison.

This year's nominee Castro is a frequent contributor to SCI FI Wire.