First look: Gaiman, Guggenheim, Starlin team up for comic anthology SHOCK

Contributed by
Dec 12, 2017

A bevy of comic all-stars are teaming up for a new anthology release set to cover everything from dark fantasy to ambitious sci-fi. The collection is called SHOCK, and it comes from indie publisher Aftershock Comics.

The 160-page hardcover collection will feature work from some of the biggest names in comics, including: Neil Gaiman, Jim Starlin, Cullen Bunn, Marc Guggenheim, Brian Azzarello, Francesco Francavilla, Bill Willingham, Marguerite Bennett, Mike Carey, Michael Zulli, Charles Vess, Michael Gaydos, Andy Clarke, Andrew Robinson, Sarah Delaine, Phil Hester, Paul Jenkins, Dalibor Talajic, Travis Moore, Frank Tieri, Brian Stelfreeze, and others. The cover art is being provided by John Cassaday.

Guggenheim (Arrow) said his story METROCLASH is an idea he’s been bouncing around for years, and will ask the question: "What if cities could fight like people?” It will focus on a “huge, visually-driven battle between New York and Chicago." Cullen Bunn (The Sixth Gun) is prepping the story Blooderflies, described as a dark fantasy story that he promises will freak readers out in a mere eight pages. Carey is putting together an autographical story about growing up in Liverpool that will aim to “make sense of the disconnect between the world I knew as a kid and the world I live in now.” Tieri’s story is titled Little Red Hood, and promises to be the classic fairy tale filtered through an “ultra-violent,” Tarantino-esque lens.

The SHOCK collection is set for release in March.

Check out some sample art below and let us know what you think:

Make Your Inbox Important

Like Comic-Con. Except every week in your inbox.

Sign-up breaker
Sign out: