First trailer for NBC time travel series Timeless is a dramatic blast from the past

Contributed by
May 16, 2016, 4:23 PM EDT

NBC has picked up a series order for Eric Kripke (Supernatural) and Shawn Ryan’s (The Shield) time-travel drama series Timeless for the upcoming 2016-2017 TV season. They’ve also released the first trailer, sending us back in time to witness the Hindenburg disaster of 1937. Intrigued yet?

The new series stars Abigail Spencer (Oz the Great and Powerful), Matt Frewer (Orphan Black), Goran Visnjic (ER, Extant), Matt Lanter (Ultimate Spider-Man), Paterson Joseph (Jekyll) and Malcolm Barrett (The Hurt Locker). Deadline reports that Timeless emerged as one of the strongest drama pilots at NBC, which has also picked up the supernatural series Midnight, Texas.

The pilot, penned by Eric Kripke and Shawn Ryan, was helmed by Neill Marshall (Centurion, Game of Thrones) who also executive produces the series along with Kripke and Ryan. Here are the first details for the upcoming series:

From Eric Kripke, Shawn Ryan and the producers of “The Blacklist” comes this thrilling action-adventure series in which a mysterious criminal steals a secret state-of-the-art time machine, intent on destroying America as we know it by changing the past. Our only hope is an unexpected team: a scientist, soldier and history professor who must use the machine’s prototype to travel back in time to critical events. While they must make every effort not to affect the past themselves, they must also stay one step ahead of this dangerous fugitive. Can this handpicked team uncover the mystery behind it all and end his destruction before it’s too late?


This is the third time travel TV show set to premiere in the fall of 2016. ABC has Time After Time and Fox has the comedy series Making History.

Will you make time for Timeless when the show premieres on NBC?

(via Deadline)