Gaiman, Moffat, Cuaron + more among 2013 Nebula Award nominees

Contributed by
Feb 25, 2014, 4:48 PM EST (Updated)

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have released their list of nominees for the the 2013 Nebula Awards, and it's packed with new and old talent.

Since 1966, the SFWA has honored the year's best achievements in sci-fi and fantasy storytelling with this coveted award. Past winners include sci-fi and fantasy icons like Frank Herbert, Ursula K. Le Guin, Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke and William Gibson, and the Nebula continues to be one of the highest prizes a sci-fi storyteller can aspire to.

This year's nominees include plenty of living and future legends, from novelists to screenwriters and more. In the novel category, Neil Gaiman snagged a nod for his 2013 novel The Ocean at the End of the Lane, while Helene Wecker scored a novel nomination for her acclaimed book The Golem and the Jinni, and writer Alaya Dawn Johnson scored two nominations, one for her novellete "They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass" and one for her much-acclaimed young adult novel The Summer Prince. Other nominees in the writing categories include Karen Joy Fowler (We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves), Nancy Kress ("Annabel Lee") and Holly Black (The Coldest Girl in Coldtown).

For movie and TV buffs, there's the always-entertaining Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation. Among the nominees in that category are Alfonso Cuaron's Gravity, Guillermo del Toro's Pacific Rim and Steven Moffat's Doctor Who 50th-anniversary special, "The Day of the Doctor."

Check out the full list of nominees below. The Nebula Awards will be given out during the annual Nebula Awards Weekend, held this year May 15-18 in San Jose, Calif. Voting on the awards for SFWA members will open March 1 and close March 30.

Best Novel

  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Marian Wood)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Headline Review)
  • Fire with Fire, Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
  • Hild, Nicola Griffith (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
  • Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Red: First Light, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island)
  • A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)
  • The Golem and the Jinni, Helene Wecker (Harper)

Best Novella

  • ‘‘Wakulla Springs,’’ Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages ( 10/2/13) ‘
  • ‘The Weight of the Sunrise,’’ Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s 2/13)
  • ‘‘Annabel Lee,” Nancy Kress (New Under the Sun)
  • ‘‘Burning Girls,’’ Veronica Schanoes ( 6/19/13)
  • ‘‘Trial of the Century,’’ Lawrence M. Schoen (, 8/13; World Jumping)
  • Six-Gun Snow White, Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean)

Best Novelette

  • ‘‘Paranormal Romance,’’ Christopher Barzak (Lightspeed 6/13)
  • ‘‘The Waiting Stars,’’ Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky)
  • ‘‘They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass,’’ Alaya Dawn Johnson (Asimov’s 1/13)
  • ‘‘Pearl Rehabilitative Colony for Ungrateful Daughters,’’ Henry Lien (Asimov’s 12/13)
  • ‘‘The Litigation Master and the Monkey King,’’ Ken Liu (Lightspeed 8/13)
  • ‘‘In Joy, Knowing the Abyss Behind,’’ Sarah Pinsker (Strange Horizons 7/1 – 7/8/13)

Best Short Story

  • ‘‘The Sounds of Old Earth,’’ Matthew Kressel (Lightspeed 1/13)
  • ‘‘Selkie Stories Are for Losers,’’ Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons 1/7/13)
  • ‘‘Selected Program Notes from the Retrospective Exhibition of Theresa Rosenberg Latimer,’’ Kenneth Schneyer (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • ‘‘If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love,’’ Rachel Swirsky (Apex 3/13)
  • ‘‘Alive, Alive Oh,’’ Sylvia Spruck Wrigley (Lightspeed 6/13)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Doctor Who: ‘‘The Day of the Doctor’’ (Nick Hurran, director; Steven Moffat, writer) (BBC Wales)
  • Europa Report (Sebastián Cordero, director; Philip Gelatt, writer) (Start Motion Pictures)
  • Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón, director; Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón, writers) (Warner Bros.)
  • Her (Spike Jonze, director; Spike Jonze, writer) (Warner Bros.)
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (Francis Lawrence, director; Simon Beaufoy & Michael deBruyn, writers) (Lionsgate)
  • Pacific Rim (Guillermo del Toro, director; Travis Beacham & Guillermo del Toro, writers) (Warner Bros.)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, Holly Black (Little, Brown; Indigo)
  • When We Wake, Karen Healey (Allen & Unwin; Little, Brown)
  • Sister Mine, Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central)
  • The Summer Prince, Alaya Dawn Johnson (Levine)
  • Hero, Alethea Kontis (Harcourt)
  • September Girls, Bennett Madison (Harper Teen)
  • A Corner of White, Jaclyn Moriarty (Levine)

Damon Knight Grand Master Award: Samuel R. Delany

Special Guest: Frank M. Robinson

(Via SFWA)