Gaiman, Le Guin, Wolfe nominated for 2009 Mythopoeic Awards

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the finalists for the 2009 Mythopoeic Awards. The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon XL, to be held July 17-20, 2009, in Los Angeles, Calif.

The nonprofit Mythopoeic Society promotes fantastic and mythic literature, particularly the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and Charles Williams, all of whom belonged to the informal Oxford literary circle known as the "Inklings."

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Carol Berg, Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone (Roc)
Daryl Gregory, Pandemonium (Del Rey)
Ursula K. Le Guin, Lavinia (Harcourt)
Patricia A. McKillip, The Bell at Sealey Head (Ace)
Gene Wolfe, An Evil Guest (Tor)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature

Kristin Cashore, Graceling (Harcourt Children's Books)
Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book (HarperCollins)
Diana Wynne Jones, House of Many Ways (HarperCollins)
Ingrid Law, Savvy (Dial)
Terry Pratchett, Nation (HarperCollins)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Gavin Ashenden, Charles Williams: Alchemy and Imagination (Kent State, 2008)
Veryln Flieger and Douglas A. Anderson, eds. Tolkien on Fairy-Stories: Expanded Edition, With Commentary and Notes (HarperCollins, 2008)
John Rateliff, The History of the Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins; Part Two: Return to Bag-End (Houghton Mifflin, 2007)
Michael Ward, Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis (Oxford, 2008)
Elizabeth A. Whittingham, The Evolution of Tolkien's Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth (McFarland, 2008)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Charles Butler, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children's Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper (Children's Literature Association & Scarecrow Press, 2006)
Jason Marc Harris, Folklore and the Fantastic in Nineteenth-Century British Fiction (Ashgate, 2008)
Farah Mendlesohn, Rhetorics of Fantasy (Wesleyan University Press, 2008)
Marek Oziewicz, One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L'Engle and Orson Scott Card (McFarland, 2008)
Richard Carl Tuerk, Oz in Perspective: Magic and Myth in the Frank L. Baum Books (McFarland, 2007)