Blade Runner 2049
More info i
Why movies such as Blade Runner are coming back in fashion in the 2010s? Science fiction has become an important asset not only for pop culture fans, but for businesses too.

American Society of Cinematographers' 2018 ASC awards nominees cast wide lens on genre films

Contributed by
Jan 10, 2018, 4:46 PM EST (Updated)

The American Society of Cinematographers announced the nominees for its February award ceremony honoring some of the best and brightest currently working in the field.

There are a lot of takeaways from this laundry list of talented cinematographers, but the sci-fi, fantasy, supernatural, and comic book genres reign supreme. Blade Runner 2049’s Roger Deakins and The Shape of Water’s Dan Lausten both received nominations for best Theatrical Release. Game of Thrones ruled the Non-Commercial TV category. And Legion, Gotham, Outlander, 12 Monkeys, and plenty more of our favorites were also nominated.

However, perhaps the biggest takeaway from the ASC's list of nominees is that this is the first year that a female has been nominated in the film category. Rachel Morrison was recognized for her work on the Netflix original Mudbound.

You'll soon see Morrison's skills in Ryan Coogler's Black Panther. Last Thursday, one of the stars of that film, Michael B. Jordan, presented her the prize for Best Cinematography at the New York Film Critics Circle, making her the first female honored in that category.

To quote Oprah’s history-making speech from the 2018 Golden Globes, “a new day is on the horizon!”

Here is a full list of the ASC nominees:

Theatrical Release

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC
Blade Runner 2049

Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC
Darkest Hour

Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC

Dan Laustsen, DFF
The Shape of Water

Rachel Morrison, ASC


Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

Gonzalo Amat
The Man in the High Castle (“Land O’ Smiles"), Amazon

Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC
The Crown (“Smoke and Mirrors”), Netflix

Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC
Game of Thrones (“The Spoils of War”), HBO

Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC
Game of Thrones (“Dragonstone”), HBO

Alasdair Walker
Outlander (“The Battle Joined”), Starz


Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Dana Gonzales, ASC
Legion (“Chapter 1”), FX

David Greene, ASC, CSC
12 Monkeys (“Mother”), Syfy

Kurt Jones
The Originals (“Bag of Cobras”), The CW

Boris Mojsovski, CSC
12 Monkeys (“Thief”), Syfy

Crescenzo Notarile, ASC
Gotham (“The Executioner”), Fox


Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

Pepe Avila del Pino
The Deuce pilot, HBO

Serge Desrosiers, CSC
Sometimes the Good Kill, Lifetime

Mathias Herndl, AAC
Genius (“Chapter 1”), National Geographic

Shelly Johnson, ASC
Training Day pilot (“Apocalypse Now”), CBS

Christopher Probst, ASC
Mindhunter pilot, Netflix


Spotlight Award

Máté Herbai, HSC
On Body and Soul

Mikhail Krichman, RGC

Mart Taniel