Get Out to receive prestigious Stanley Kramer Award from Producer's Guild of America

Contributed by
Dec 20, 2017, 8:21 PM EST (Updated)

Jordan Peele's little horror film simply cannot be stopped. Deadline is reporting today that Get Out will receive the prestigious Stanley Kramer Award, courtesy of the Producer's Guild of America.

The award itself is named after filmmaker Stanley Kramer, the man behind such films as Inherit the Wind and Guess Who's Coming to Dinner. The award was created in 2002 to honor a film or an individual “whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues.” Last year's recipient was Jeff Nichols' Loving, which followed in the footsteps of such films as The Normal Heart and The Hunting Ground.

The award will be given to writer/director/producer Jordan Peele, as well as producers Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, and Edward H. Hamm, Jr. In a statement, PGA Awards chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal said, “The electrifying response to Get Out demonstrates that the power of motion pictures to crystallize and reflect our collective social anxieties remains stronger than ever.“

The statement goes on to reference Kramer's work, whose film Guess Who's Coming to Dinner also dealt with themes of ingrained racism. "It’s hard to imagine two more different sensibilities approaching the problem of race in America than Stanley Kramer and Jordan Peele, but despite the different paths their stories take, their power springs from the same outrage, fearlessness and passion.”

The award is the latest in a long series off honors that Get Out is receiving, and there's no reason to think that momentum won't continue on into the heart of awards season. One of the most talked about films of the year, it has already nabbed nominations from the Critics' Choice Awards and The Golden Globes, and the cast recently received a SAG ensemble nomination. Get Out is appearing on many (almost all) end-of-year best picture lists, and as more and more people are exposed to the work, the film, and its all-too real theme of systemic racism, remain a topic of conversation.

The Stanley Kramer Award will be presented during the 29th annual PGA Awards, which will take place on Jan. 20, 2018. Filmmaker Ava DuVernay (Selma, the upcoming A Wrinkle in Time) will also be celebrated with the PGA's Visionary Award.

Will Get Out's streak of success extend all the way to the Oscars? Nothing is certain, but at this point, it might be a safe bet.

Make Your Inbox Important

Like Comic-Con. Except every week in your inbox.

Sign-up breaker