Hannibal, Stephen King + more lead this year's Bram Stoker Award noms

Contributed by
Feb 25, 2014, 6:44 AM EST (Updated)

The Horror Writers Association has released its annual list of nominations for outstanding achievements in scary storytelling, and there are plenty of names you'll recognize.

Over the weekend, the association released the final ballot for voting by its members on the 2013 Bram Stoker Awards, which will be handed out this May at the annual World Horror Convention. The awards, which have been given annually since 1987, highlight "superior achievement" in horror and dark fantasy storytelling in fields ranging from novels to short fiction to comics and screenwriting, and past winners include icons like Stephen King, Peter Straub, Joyce Carol Oates and Neil Gaiman, among many others.

Among the biggest names on this year's ballot are Superior Achievement in a Novel nominees King (for his sequel to The ShiningDoctor Sleep), King's son Joe Hill (for his third novel, N0S4A2), and Christopher Rice, son of Vampire Chronicles author Anne Rice, for his book The Heavens Rise.

The Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category also includes big names that even casual horror fans or people who don't usually follow horror at all can get behind. Nominees in that category include past Bram Stoker winner and author of The Drowning Girl Caitlin R. Kiernan for her Dark Horse Comics release Alabaster: Wolves, longtime Captain America writer Ed Brubaker for the third volume of his Image Comics series FataleSeaguy and Batman & Robin artist Cameron Stewart for the newly collected edition of his long-running webcomic Sin Titulo, and Bandette writer Paul Tobin for Colder

In the Screenplay category, it's an all-television year as several celebrated horror shows get love. Among the nominees are Bryan Fuller for the Hannibal series premiere, "Aperitif," Glen Mazzara for the Walking Dead season-three finale "Welcome to the Tombs," Brad Falchuk for the American Horror Story: Asylum episode "Spilt Milk," Daniel Knauf for the Dracula episode "A Whiff of Sulfur," and Fabien Adda and Fabrice Gobert for The Returned episode "The Horde."

Check out the full list of nominees below. The awards will be given out May 10 during the World Horror Convention in Portland, Ore.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • NOS4A2, Joe Hill (Morrow)
  • Doctor Sleep, Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Malediction, Lisa Morton (Evil Jester)
  • A Necessary End, Sarah Pinborough & F. Paul Wilson (Thunderstorm/Maelstrom)
  • The Heavens Rise, Christopher Rice (Gallery)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Candy House, Kate Jonez (Evil Jester)
  • The Year of the Storm, John Mantooth (Berkley)
  • The Evolutionist, Rena Mason (Nightscape)
  • Redheads, Jonathan Moore (Samhain)
  • Stoker’s Manuscript, Royce Prouty (Putnam)

Superior Achievement in a YA Novel

  • Special Dead, Patrick Freivald (JournalStone)
  • Unbreakable, Kami Garcia (Little, Brown)
  • Project Cain, Geoffrey Girard (Simon & Schuster)
  • Dog Days, Joe McKinney (JournalStone)
  • In the Shadow of Blackbirds, Cat Winters (Abrams)

Superior Achievement Long Fiction

  • “The Bluehole”, Dale Bailey (F&SF 5-6/13)
  • “The Great Pity”, Gary Braunbeck (Chiral Mad 2)
  • “The Slaughter Man”, Benjamin K. Ethridge (Limbus, Inc.)
  • “No Others Are Genuine”, Gregory Frost (Asimov’s 10-11/13)
  • House of Rain, Greg F. Gifune (DarkFuse)
  • East End Girls, Rena Mason (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Primal Tongue”, Michael Bailey (Zippered Flesh 2)
  • “Snapshot”, Patrick Freivald (Blood & Roses)
  • “Night Train to Paris”, David Gerrold (F&SF 1-2/13)
  • “The Hunger Artist”, Lisa Mannetti (Zippered Flesh 2)
  • “The Geminis”, John Palisano (Chiral Mad 2)
  • “Code 666”, Michael Reaves (F&SF 3-4/13)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Horror Library: Volume 5, R.J. Cavender & Boyd E. Harris, ed. (Cutting Block)
  • After Death…, Eric J. Guignard, ed. (Dark Moon)
  • Barbers & Beauties, Michael Knost & Nancy Eden Siegel, ed. (Hummingbird House)
  • The Grimscribe’s Puppets, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., ed. (Miskatonic River)
  • Dark Visions: A Collection of Modern Horror, Volume One, Anthony Rivera & Sharon Lawson, ed. (Grey Matter)

Superior Achievement in a Collection

  • North American Lake Monsters: Stories, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories, Laird Barron (Night Shade)
  • The Tears of Isis, James Dorr (Perpetual Motion Machine)
  • The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories, Caitlìn R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
  • Dance of the Blue Lady, Gene O’Neill (Bad Moon)
  • Bible Stories for Secular Humanists, S.P. Somtow (Diplodocus)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Images of the Modern Vampire: The Hip and the Atavistic, Barbara Brodman & James E. Doan, eds. (Fairleigh Dickinson)
  • Ramsey Campbell: Critical Essays on the Modern Master of Horror, Gary William Crawford, ed. (Scarecrow)
  • Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing about the Master of Science Fiction, William F. Nolan (Hippocampus)
  • The Intermedial Experience of Horror: Suspended Failures, Jarkko Toikkanen (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors, Robert H. Waugh, ed. (Scarecrow)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Dark Roads: Selected Long Poems 1971-2012, Bruce Boston (Dark Renaissance)
  • The Sex Lives of Monsters, Helen Marshall (Kelp Queen)
  • Dangerous Dreams, Marge Simon & Sandy DeLuca (Elektrik Milk Bath)
  • Four Elements, Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, & Linda Addison (Bad Moon/Evil Jester)
  • Hysteria: A Collection of Madness, Stephanie M. Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Fatale Book Three: West of Hell, Ed Brubaker (Image)
  • Alabaster: Wolves, Caitlìn R. Kiernan (Dark Horse)
  • Witch Doctor, Vol. 2: Mal Practice, Brandon Seifert (Image)
  • Sin Titulo, Cameron Stewart (Dark Horse)
  • Colder, Paul Tobin (Dark Horse)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • The Returned: ”The Horde”, Fabien Adda & Fabrice Gobert (Ramaco Media I, Castelao Pictures)
  • American Horror Story: Asylum: ”Spilt Milk”, Brad Falchuk (Brad Falchuk Teley-Vision, Ryan Murphy Productions)
  • Hannibal: ”Apéritif”, Bryan Fuller (Dino De Laurentiis Company, Living Dead Guy Productions, AXN: Original X Production, Gaumont International Television)
  • Dracula: ”A Whiff of Sulfur”, Daniel Knauf (Flame Ventures, Playground, Universal Television, Carnival Films)
  • The Walking Dead: ”Welcome to the Tombs”, Glen Mazzara (AMC TV) 

(Via Locus)