Neil Gaiman, Joss Whedon win Hugo Awards in Montreal

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012

The Hugo Awards were presented last night at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon. The ceremony was held at the Palais de Congrès in Montreal, Québec.

The winners were:

Best Novel: The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury UK)

Best Novella: "The Erdmann Nexus," Nancy Kress (Asimov's, Oct./Nov. 2008)

Best Novelette: "Shoggoths in Bloom," Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's, Mar. 2008)

Best Short Story: "Exhalation," Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)

Best Related Book: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008, John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)

Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones, written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: WALL-E, Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, director (Pixar/Walt Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director (Mutant Enemy)

Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow

Best Editor Long Form: David G. Hartwell

Best Professional Artist: Donato Giancola

Best Semiprozine: Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Fan Writer: Cheryl Morgan

Best Fanzine: Electric Velocipede, edited by John Klima

Best Fan Artist: Frank Wu

Several other awards which were not Hugos were also presented as part of the ceremony:

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: David Anthony Durham.

The Big Heart Award: Andrew Porter

The First Fandom Hall of Fame Award: James Gunn and Ben Indick.

The First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Award: Walt Daugherty

The Sam Moskowitz Award for Excellence in Collecting: Joe Wrzos

Make Your Inbox Important

Like Comic-Con. Except every week in your inbox.

Sign-up breaker