Leviathan Wakes cover Orbit Books

James S.A. Corey to create new space opera novel trilogy after The Expanse ends in 2019

Contributed by
May 11, 2018, 10:46 AM EDT

While The Expanse TV series will be ending its run on SYFY after three seasons, it’s far from the end for series creator James S.A. Corey. There are at least two more novels in The Expanse book series before Corey will bring that saga to a close. But once Corey finishes the last Expanse novel, a brand new sci-fi epic will be on the horizon.

Orbit Books has revealed that Corey has signed a new deal to write and create a new space opera trilogy that will be the start of its own universe. So it won’t be related to The Expanse series and it will stand on its own. The name of the new trilogy hasn’t been announced, nor has any artwork been released. 

James S.A. Corey is the pen name openly used by authors Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck, who co-wrote The Expanse series together and also served as producers and writers for the SYFY original series. Abraham and Franck have occasionally teamed up outside of The Expanse universe, most notably on the Star Wars: Honor Among Thieves novel that was released in 2014.

While speaking to The Verge, Franck indicated that the new trilogy will be an “exploration of the high concept science fiction that followed [The Golden Age of science fiction], with books like Dune and Hyperion and The Left Hand of Darkness.” 

“It’s big spectacle far future space opera, while never losing our focus on the complexity of human nature in these strange new settings,” added Abrams.

The final novel in The Expanse series is expected to be published in 2019. The new trilogy will be released at some point after that.