JK Rowling
More info i
Getty Images

J.K. Rowling, Stan Lee amid new inductees to Museum of Pop Culture Hall of Fame

Contributed by
Jun 17, 2018, 3:25 PM EDT

What do Buffy the Vampire Slayer, J.K. Rowling, Stan Lee, and The Legend of Zelda have in common? They are the four newest inductees to the Museum of Pop Culture’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame.

Each year the Seattle museum adds new creators and works to its Hall of Fame. For the inductees, the museum offered a description and highlighted notable works from and related to each. Buffy the Vampire Slayer is described as “a quintessential example of turn-of-the-century genre television” that told “deeper metaphorical stories about the struggles of daily teen life.” The museum highlights related works to the show like Angel and the Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season Eight comic. J.K. Rowling is of course recognized for creating the Harry Potter series with her expanded works like Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them also acknowledged.

The museum points to The Legend of Zelda series as being “often cited as one of the first ‘open world’ video games” and lists games from the original to the latest, Breath of the Wild, with its entry while Stan Lee is called “one of the most influential comic book writers of all time.” His featured selected works include the original Fantastic Four comic and films like Black Panther and Avengers: Infinity War.

Reading through the inductees’ achievements, it’s easy to see why they’re earning a spot in the museum’s Hall of Fame. They will fit perfectly next to past inductees which include Madeleine L’Engle, Douglas Adams, Myst, Star Trek, Wonder Woman, and John Williams.

The four new additions will be added to the Museum of Pop Culture’s Hall of Fame exhibition later this year.

(Via Muggle.net)