More info i
Kathleen KennedyKathleen Kennedy is the grande dame of women in cinema. Her name's attached to the most influential films of the last 30-plus years: E.T. the Extra Terrestial, Back to the Future, the Indiana Jones series and Jurassic Park are just some of her producing credits. But her greatest achievement may be her role as President of Lucasfilm, in which capacity she'll help launch a new Star Wars trilogy, the first of which will debut in 2015. The Force is definitely with her.

Academy's Governors Awards to honor Kathleen Kennedy as first female Thalberg Award recipient

Contributed by
Sep 5, 2018, 8:45 PM EDT

Kathleen Kennedy leads the newly released list of honorees at the 10th annual Governors Awards, presented by the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. 

Kennedy, best known as the president of LucasFilm and the woman who has spearheaded every Star Wars film for the last decade, is receiving the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award in conjunction with her husband and producing partner, Frank Marshall. Their production partnership, Kennedy/Marshall, has produced genre fare such as The Sixth Sense, Jurassic World, The BFG, Signs, Congo, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, and all the Bourne movies. The Thalberg Award is presented to producers “whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.” Kennedy will be the first woman to ever win this prestigious honor.

Honorary Oscars will also be presented at the Governors Awards. This Oscar statuette is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy,” and to deserving people who do not already have an Oscar. This year's honorees will be actress Cicely Tyson, publicist Marvin Levy, and composer Lalo Schifrin.

Tyson was nominated for an Academy Award for her role in Sounder in 1972, but did not win. Her best-known films include Fried Green Tomatoes and The Help, and her genre credits include The Haunting in Connecticut 2: Ghosts of Georgia and Alex Cross.

Schifrin was nominated for six times for Academy Awards, for Cool Hand Luke, The Fox, Voyage of the Damned, The Amityville Horror, The Sting II, and The Competition. But he is best known for writing the theme song for Mission: Impossible. Besides that noteworthy achievement, Schifrin's other genre credits include The Amityville HorrorAmityville II: The Possession, Return From Witch Mountain, Day of the Animals, Enter the Dragon, and THX 1138.

Levy is a publicist who has worked with Steven Spielberg since 1977. Some of the campaigns that he has worked on include those for films Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Back to the Future, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, E.T., and Schindler's List. Levy will be the first publicist to ever receive an honorary Oscar.

The Governors Awards will be presented on Nov. 18 in Los Angeles.

(via Variety)