Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book wins Newbery Medal

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

Best-selling author Neil Gaiman's novel The Graveyard Book is the winner of this year's Newbery Medal, the most prestigious award for children's literature in the United States.

Presented by the American Library Association (ALA), the Newbery has been awarded annually since 1922, and is named for 18th century juvenile book publisher John Newbery. Past winners include SF/fantasy authors Madeleine L'Engle, Lloyd Alexander and Lois Lowry.

The ALA has also announced its other annual awards, including the Caldecott Medal, for illustrated children's books, and the Printz Award, for excellence in literature written for young adults. Non-SF novels won both the Caldecott (The House in the Night, illustrated by Beth Krommes and written by Susan Marie Swanson) and Printz (Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta), but several SF/fantasy novels were named Printz Honor Books, denoting works of exceptional achievement: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson, Nation by Terry Pratchett and Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan.

Winners of the 2009 Alex Award—given to works of adult fiction that also appeal to teen readers—have also been announced. Notable SF winners include The Dragons of Babel by Michael Swanwick, Just After Sunset by Stephen King and Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow.

Full lists of winners in each category are available on the ALA Web site.