Pandemonium wins Crawford Award

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012

Pandemonium by Daryl Gregory is the winner of this year's William L. Crawford Award, for best first book-length work of fantasy.

The annual award is named for the publisher/editor who in 1935 launched the first SF/fantasy specialty press with the publication of Mars Mountain by Eugene George Key. The award named in his honor is presented annually by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts.

Other finalists for this year's award included Alive in Necropolis by Doug Dorst, Superpowers by David Schwartz, Thunderer by Felix Gilman and Last Dragon by J.M. McDermott.

Previous winners of the award, which is now in its 25th year, include Charles de Lint, Jonathan Lethem, Jasper Fforde and Joe Hill. Last year's winner was Christopher Barzak. The award will be presented to Gregory at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, March 18-22, in Orlando.

Make Your Inbox Important

Like Comic-Con. Except every week in your inbox.

Sign-up breaker