Spin into a new vinyl release for The Exorcist score

Contributed by
May 3, 2017, 10:44 AM EDT (Updated)

Okay, let's all just get the whole head-spinning/record-spinning puns out of our system in one cooperative swoop. Good? Now, the scoop: There's a deluxe vinyl edition of the score from The Exorcist coming from Waxwork Records.

Although the tracks don't include the haunting Tubular Bells theme from Mike Oldfield (probably due to licensing issues), it does contain all the atmospheric classical pieces used in the William Friedkin-directed film, along with three never-used tracks by the Academy Award-nominated composer, Lalo Schifrin.

A release date hasn't been announced, but here's the complete track list and first peek at the frightening album art ...

1. Jack Nitzsche, Krzysztof Penderecki, "Iraq"
2. Anton Webern, "Five Pieces For Orchestra"
3. Krzysztof Penderecki, "Polymorphia"
4. Krzysztof Penderecki, "String Quartet No. 1"
5. Harry Bee, "Beginnings From The Wind Harp"
6. Krzysztof Penderecki, "Kanon For Orchestra and Tape"
7. Hans Werner Henze, "Fantasia For Strings"
8. Lalo Schifrin, "Music From The Unused Trailer"
9. Lalo Schifrin, "Suite From The Unused Score to The Exorcist"
10. Lalo Schifrin, "Rock Ballad (Unused Theme From The Exorcist)"

(via Bloody Disgusting)