PGA Nominations: Wonder Woman leads well-represented slate of genre fare

Contributed by
Jan 5, 2018, 1:32 PM EST (Updated)

With the Golden Globes coming up this weekend, awards season is kicking into high gear, and genre fare seems to be finally getting its just due. Today, one of the more prestigious offerings of the bunch, the Producer’s Guild Awards (PGA), just revealed its nominees, and now we’ve really got a seat at the fancy tables.

Among your many genre nominees in the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures category this year, we’ve got Get Out, The Shape of Water, and… wait for it… Wonder Woman.

To put that into perspective, since the Producers Guild of America started handing out awards in 1990, 19 out of 28 times the film that won their Outstanding Producer award has presaged the Academy’s Best Picture winner. So yeah, genre is definitely getting its due.

But wait, there’s more! The nominees for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures include Coco, and… wait for it… The Lego Batman Movie. Holy awards season redemption for Phil Lord and Christopher Miller! 

Hold on, it gets even better for television, where Game of Thrones (Season 7), The Handmaid’s Tale (Season 1), and Stranger Things (Season 2) all made the cut. And did we mention that Black Mirror (Season 4) is up for the Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television award?

And keep in mind, Get Out has already been announced as the PGA's winner of their prestigious Stanley Kramer Award, recognizing the film that most raises awareness of "important social issues."

Granted, just because the PGA recognizes a film, that doesn’t always translate to Oscar love. Consider the fact that last year, all nine Academy Award Best Picture nominees were previously nominated by the PGA, but Deadpool was the only PGA nominee that didn’t make Oscar’s list.

The Producers Guild of America, co-chaired by Donald De Line and Amy Pascal, will hand out the trophies at the 29th annual PGA Awards on Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, CA. Check out the full list below, then let us know who you think will win.


The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Big Sick
Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel

Call Me By Your Name
Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito

Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan

Get Out
Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele

I, Tonya
Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley

Lady Bird
Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill

Molly’s Game
Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson

The Post
Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger

The Shape Of Water
Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh

Wonder Woman
Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Boss Baby
Producer: Ramsey Naito

Producer: Darla K. Anderson

Despicable Me 3
Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson

The Lego Batman Movie
Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures (some names still being vetted):

Chasing Coral
Producers: Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes

City of Ghosts
Producer: Matthew Heineman

Cries from Syria
Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor, Aaron I. Butler

Earth: One Amazing Day
Producer: Stephen McDonogh


Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower

The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee
Producers: Teddy Kunhardt, George Kunhardt


The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama (names still being vetted):

Big Little Lies (Season 1)

The Crown (Season 2)

Game of Thrones (Season 7)

The Handmaid’s Tale (Season 1)

Stranger Things (Season 2)


The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 9)

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Season 1)

Master of None (Season 2)

Silicon Valley (Season 4)

Veep (Season 6)


The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

Black Mirror (Season 4)

Fargo (Season 3)

FEUD: Bette and Joan (Season 1)

Sherlock: The Lying Detective

The Wizard of Lies


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

30 for 30 (Season 8)

60 Minutes (Season 50)

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (Season 9, Season 10)

Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath (Season 1, Season 2)



The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (Season 2)

Jimmy Kimmel Live! (Season 15)

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 4)

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 3)

Saturday Night Live (Season 43)


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

The Amazing Race (Season 29)

American Ninja Warrior (Season 9)

Lip Sync Battle (Season 3)

Top Chef (Season 14)

The Voice (Season 12, Season 13)


The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

Better Call Saul’s Los Pollos Hermanos Employee Training (Season 1)

Carpool Karaoke (Season 1)

Humans of New York: The Series (Season 1)

National Endowment for the Arts: United States of Arts (Season 3)

Viceland at the Women’s March (Season 1)


The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

All or Nothing: A Season with the Los Angeles Rams (Season 2)

Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Season 12)

Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (Season 23)

SportsCenter with Scott Van Pelt (Season 3)

VICE World of Sports (Season 2)


The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

Doc McStuffins (Season 4)

Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards 2017

School of Rock (Season 3)

Sesame Street (Season 47)

SpongeBob SquarePants (Season 10, Season 11)

(via Deadline)