zapdos pokemon go

PSA: Pokemon GO players have a three-hour window to catch Zapdos this Saturday

Contributed by
Jul 20, 2018

Attention Pokemon GO players: Zapdos will be set free for three hours on Saturday, July 21, in honor of Zapdos Day, and Nintendo is asking players to stand at the ready to catch the elusive Pokemon during its brief release. Consider this your friendly PSA. 

During this worldwide event, players around the world will only have three hours during which to capture Zapdos and an extra rare Shiny Zapdos during Raid Battles. Once captured, Zapdos will offer a Fast Attack Thundershock for Pokemon GO enthusiasts as they continue their quest to capture all available Pokemon.

The raid will start at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT and end at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT.

If players capture Zapdos before the event ends, they can congregate at a local Pokemon GO gym to spin a Photo Disc and receive Raid passes (maximum of five per person).

Zapdos Day is part of Niantic’s Pokemon GO Summer Tour along with Professor Willow’s Global Challenge. The tour will end this August in Yokosuka, Japan, with a Pokémon GO Safari Zone event. Players are advised to prepare for any situation.

For additional information, check out the Pokemon website.