Post-DC Metal: Scott Snyder to helm Justice League and co-write JL: No Justice

Contributed by
Jan 27, 2018, 3:49 PM EST

For DC Comics' architect of Dark Nights: Metal writer Scott Snyder, there will be no peace for the weary after the event concludes on March 14 with Issue #6. Once that final issue drops, Metal fans can let that finale sit for a month until a four-issue, weekly mini-series called Justice League: No Justice hits stands beginning on May 9. No Justice will be co-written by Snyder and his fellow Metal masterminds Joshua Williamson and James Tynion IV, with Francis Manapul providing the art. 

Snyder and Manapul told IGN that they are pitting the League against another big, cosmic-level threat, which Brainiac gives the league a heads-up is on its way. 

“We thought we knew the entire map of the DC cosmos,” said Snyder. “We thought we had explored all there was to explore. But now we know that all this time the Multiverse was nothing but a fishbowl, and now we’ve been dumped into the ocean, unleashing terrifying new threats, and wondrous new possibilities. Metal opened up channels of storytelling that Francis, James, Joshua, and I are excited to explore in a big way. When we’re finished, fans will never look at the Justice League in the same way again.”

Chances are this threat isn't as big as Barbatos; however, that doesn't mean it's not significant.  Snyder alluded to it on Twitter after the release of DC Metal: Batman Lost in a clue.


Notice the book on the left, titled "No Justice." At the time, this was a story that was not part of the lexicon of DCU stories. Now the newly revamped roster of the Justice League apparently discovers they don't have enough to get the job done, forcing the League to deploy a plan hatched by Braniac that includes them joining forces with some supervillains and splitting up into four teams:

Team Mystery: Superman, Martian Manhunter, Sinestro, Starfire, and Starro.
Team Entropy: Batman, Deathstroke, Lobo, Lex Luthor, and Beast Boy.
Team Wonder: Wonder Woman, Doctor Fate, Etrigan the Demon, Zatanna, and Raven.
Team Wisdom: Flash, Cyborg, (Damian Wayne) Robin, Harley Quinn, and the Atom.

The events of No Justice will dovetail into the Justice League family of books in June where Snyder will drive the main Justice League book, while other JL-related titles will be written by Tynion, Williamson, and others. No artists have been announced yet for this creative change.

Given how Metal was largely the DC heroes going up against evil manifestations of Batman's worst nightmares from the Dark Multiverse, there seems to be a change up with the Justice League teaming up with villains. Also, notable omissions are Aquaman and any Green Lantern. 

The title could also mean what happens when there is no Justice League around to stop another threat as Braniac is keeping them busy with this cosmic threat. Snyder told us during the holiday season several things that may be spinning out of Metal, and now No Justice and what comes after in the Justice League books is further proof of how much Metal is changing the direction of the DCU. 

Current runs of the Justice League titles will conclude in the month of April, with Christopher Priest and Pete Woods' last issue of Justice League being Issue #43 (April 18) and Steve Orlando and a rotation of various artists' last issue of Justice League of America being Issue #29 (April 11).  

Check out the gallery below the video to see Manapul's preview art of the rosters and covers to No Justice.