SFWA announces final Nebula Awards ballot

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced the nominees for the 2008 Nebula Awards. The awards will be presented at the 2009 Nebula Awards Weekend held April 24-26, 2009, in Los Angeles, California.

Since 1965, the Nebula Awards have been given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette and short story eligible for that year's award. An award for best script was added in 2000, while the Andre Norton Award for an outstanding young adult science fiction or fantasy book was first given in 2006.

The nominees are:

Little Brother, Cory Doctorow (Tor, April '08)
Powers, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, September '07)
Cauldron, Jack McDevitt (Ace, November '07)
Brasyl, Ian McDonald (Pyr, May '07)
Making Money, Terry Pratchett (Harper, September '07)
Superpowers, David J. Schwartz (Three Rivers Press, June '08)

"The Spacetime Pool," Catherine Asaro (Analog, March '08)
"Dark Heaven," Gregory Benford (Alien Crimes, ed. Mike Resnick, SFBC, January '07)
"Dangerous Space," Kelley Eskridge, (Dangerous Space, Aqueduct Press, June '07)
"The Political Prisoner," Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF, August '08)
"The Duke in His Castle," Vera Nazarian (Norilana Books, June '08)

"If Angels Fight," Richard Bowes (F&SF, February '08)
"Dark Rooms," Lisa Goldstein (Asimov's, October/November '07)
"Pride and Prometheus," John Kessel (F&SF, January '08)
"Night Wind," Mary Rosenblum (Lace and Blade, ed. Deborah J. Ross, Norilana Books, February '08)
"Baby Doll," Johanna Sinisalo (The SFWA European Hall of Fame, ed. James Morrow and Kathryn Morrow, Tor, June '07 )
"Kaleidoscope," K.D. Wentworth (F&SF, May '07)

Short Stories
"The Button Bin," Mike Allen (Helix: A Speculative Fiction Quarterly, October '07)
"The Dreaming Wind," Jeffrey Ford (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, ed. Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, Viking, July '07)
"Trophy Wives," Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, DAW Books, January '08)
"26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss," Kij Johnson (Asimov's, July '08)
"The Tomb Wife," Gwyneth Jones (F&SF, August 07)
"Don't Stop," James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's, June '07)

The Dark Knight, Jonathan Nolan, Christopher Nolan, David S. Goyer (Warner Brothers, July '08)
WALL-E , Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney, June '08)
"The Shrine," Brad Wright (Stargate Atlantis, August '08)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
Graceling, Kristin Cashore, (Harcourt, October '08)
Lamplighter, D.M. Cornish (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 2, Putnam Juvenile, May '08)
Savvy, Ingrid Law (Dial, May '08)
The Adoration of Jenna Fox, Mary E. Pearson (Henry Holt and Company, April '08)
Flora's Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room), Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, September '08)