SFWA announces Nebula Awards winners

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

The 2008 Nebula Awards ceremony was held Saturday, April 25, on the UCLA campus. Janis Ian acted as toastmistress, performing a version of her song "At Seventeen" with new SF-themed lyrics, while Chuck Lorre, executive producer of The Big Bang Theory, gave the keynote address.

The Nebula Awards are presented annually by the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America. This year's winners were:

Best Novel: Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin

Best Novella: "The Spacetime Pool" by Catherine Asaro

Best Novelette: "Pride and Prometheus" by John Kessel

Best Short Story: "Trophy Wives" by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

Script: WALL-E, screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter

Andre Norton Award: Flora's Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) by Ysabeau S. Wilce

Solstice Award: Kate Wilhelm, A.J. Budrys and Martin H. Greenberg

SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss

Bradbury Award: Joss Whedon

Grand Master Award: Harry Harrison

Author Emerita: M.J. Engh