Stranger Things 2 soundtrack announced, listen to the first haunting track

Contributed by
Mar 26, 2021, 6:00 AM EDT (Updated)

While our eyes can barely wait for the return of Stranger Things 2 -- which is set to hit Netflix on October 27 -- it seems our ears are in for an early treat.

Not only has the official soundtrack for Season 2 been announced, but a new song from composers Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein has been previewed on SoundCloud

Dixon and Stein -- better known as one-half of Austin, Texas, band S U R V I V E -- were enlisted by creators the Duffer Brothers to write the music for the first season of the show, which helped make it an instant classic among viewers.

The new soundtrack contains a staggering 34 tracks, one of which is titled Walkin' in Hawkins, which has been unveiled for fans to listen to.

The pair told Rolling Stone that they wanted to balance different music styles this time around: "In Season 2, we're introducing new styles of composition, while still revisiting old themes when appropriate. We've created new elements that are necessary to support the story, but still want to remain true to the sound of Season 1."

The full track-listing is as follows:

01 Walkin’ in Hawkins
02 Home
03 Eulogy
04 On the Bus
05 Presumptuous
06 Eight Fifteen
07 The First Lie
08 Scars
09 I Can Save Them
10 Descent Into the Rift
11 Chicago
12 Looking for a Way Out
13 Birth / Rescue
14 In the Woods
15 Digging
16 Symptoms
17 Eggo in the Snow
18 Soldiers
19 Choices
20 Never Tell
21 She Wants Me to Find Her
22 Shouldn’t Have Lied
23 It’s a Trap
24 Crib
25 The Return
26 Escape
27 We Go Out Tonight
28 Connect the Dots
29 The Hub
30 On Edge
31 What Else Did You See?
32 Run
33 Levitation
34 To Be Continued

The soundtrack is scheduled for release on October 20.

What do you think of the music on Stranger Things? Let us know in the comments below.