The Dark Knight, Battlestar clean up at the Saturn Awards

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

The Dark Knight was the big winner, with five awards, at the 35th annual Saturn Awards on Wednesday, taking home statuettes for best action/adventure/thriller film, best writing (Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan), best supporting actor (Heath Ledger), best music (Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard) and best special effects. The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films sponsored the awards at The Castaway in Burbank, Calif.

Other multiple winners included The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Iron Man, with three each. Button won best fantasy film, best supporting actress (Tilda Swinton) and best makeup. Iron Man won best science fiction film, best actor (Robert Downey Jr.) and best director (Jon Favreau).

Single winners included Hellboy II: The Golden Army for best horror film; Angelina Jolie as best actress for Changeling; Jaden Christopher Smith for best performance by a younger actor in The Day the Earth Stood Still; Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull for best costume; Let the Right One In for best international film; and WALL-E for best animated film.

On TV, Battlestar Galactica won three awards: best actor on television (Edward James Olmos), best actress on television (Mary McDonnell) and best syndicated/cable television series. Dexter won two acting awards, for Jennifer Carpenter for best supporting actress on television and Jimmy Smits for guest-starring role on television.

Single wins for TV series included Lost for best television series, The Librarian: The Curse of the Judas Chalice for best presentation on television, and Adrian Pasdar for best supporting actor on television, in Heroes.

DVD winners included Jack Brooks: Monster Slayer for best DVD release, Stephen King's The Mist for best DVD special edition, Psycho (Universal Legacy Series) for best DVD classic film release, The Godfather: The Coppola Restoration for best DVD collection, Moonlight for best series on DVD and The Invaders for best retro series on DVD.

Jeffrey Katzenberg received the very first Visionary Award for his efforts in advancing 3-D film presentation. Leonard Nimoy received the Lifetime Achievement Award, for five decades of work in film and television, but really for Mr. Spock. A Life Career Award went to longtime genre actor Lance Henriksen.