More info i
Image: DC Comics

The Harvey Awards announce its roster of 2018 winners at NYCC

Contributed by
Oct 6, 2018, 11:06 AM EDT

While fans were busy roaming the floors of NYCC and taking in all the panels, screenings, and other events, the 30th annual Harvey Awards announced their list of winners for 2018.

In addition to the list of winners, which you can see below, Watchmen artist and co-creator Dave Gibbons and The New Yorker's Roz Chast were both inducted into the Hall of Fame.

"To be inducted into the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame alongside such a luminary as Roz is a huge honor,” Gibbons said. “The diverse list of winners and the work on offer is a testament to the strength of our industry."

Additionally, manga artist Harold Sakuishi was given the International Spotlight Award, and the first ever Comics Industry Pioneer honor was awarded to Jackie Estrada, celebrating her decades of work.

Here's the full list of the 2018 Harvey Award winners.

Book of the Year: Monstress by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)


Image Comics

Digital Book of the YearBarrier by Brian K. Vaughan, Marcos Martin, and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)

Best Children or Young Adult Book: Tie between The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (First Second) and The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)

Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic NovelBlack Panther (Walt Disney Pictures) - Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from Black Panther (Marvel Comics)

Best MangaMy Lesbian Experience With Loneliness by Nagata Kabi (Seven Seas)

My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness

Seven Seas

Best European BookCalifornia Dreamin': Cass Elliott Before The Mamas & The Papas by Pénélope Bagieu (First Second)

The Harvey Awards, which represents one of the industry’s longest-running annual events, take their name from Harvey Kurtzman, who's best known as the creator of MAD Magazine.

Be sure to check out SYFY WIRE’s full coverage of NYCC 2018, including up-to-the-minute news, exclusive interviews, and videos.