Shape Of Water Sally Hawkins

The Shape of Water, Blade Runner and Get Out among winners of National Society of Film Critics awards

Contributed by
Jan 7, 2018, 4:38 PM EST (Updated)

In the lead-up to the Academy Awards, film critic organizations can give us our first idea of which films may take away the coveted Oscar. Both Get Out and The Shape of Water were chosen by the Online Film Critics Society in late 2017 and the Producers Guild of America, and have earned noms from the Screen Actors Guild and Golden Globes. In fact, genre films are having a great year overall.

In keeping with that trend, the National Society of Film Critics announced their awards today, and both Guillermo del Toro's The Shape of Water and Jordan Peele's Get Out took home major wins, with Daniel Kaluuya winning Best Actor in Get Out and Sally Hawkins winning Best Actress in The Shape of Water.  Roger Deakins also won the award for Best Cinematography for Blade Runner 2049.

While prior award wins aren't a guarantee of anything, the frequency with which some of these films are winning bodes well for their future.

(via THR)