Twilight: New Moon begins production in Canada and Italy

Contributed by
Dec 14, 2012, 3:54 PM EST

Summit Entertainment announced the beginning of principal photography on The Twilight Saga: New Moon, the next chapter in the hit vampire franchise.

Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner reprise their roles as Bella Swan, Edward Cullen and Jacob Black. Chris Weitz (The Golden Compass) directs. New Moon is filming on location in Vancouver, Canada, and in the Tuscany region of Italy.

Also rejoining the movie are Ashley Greene as Alice, Peter Facinelli as Carlisle, Elizabeth Reaser as Esme, Kellan Lutz as Emmett, Nikki Reed as Rosalie, Jackson Rathbone as Jasper, Edi Gathegi as Laurent, Rachelle Lafevre as Victoria and Billy Burke as Charlie Swan.

New cast members will play members of the Volturi, a coven of vampires who weigh and impose the laws of the vampire world, as well as two new members of the Quileute Indian Nation. The Volturi cast members include Charlie Bewley as Demetri, Jamie Campbell Bower as Caius, Daniel Cudmore as Felix and Christopher Heyerdahl as Marcus, all Volturi enforcers.

Dakota Fanning plays Jane, a high-ranking and powerful Volturi member, and Cameron Bright is Alec, her brother. Noot Seer plays Volturi member Heidi. Michael Sheen plays Aro, the Volturi leader. Graham Greene appears as Harry Clearwater, Quileute tribal leader and old friend of Bella's father, Charlie. Tinsel Korey is Emily, the fiance of Sam Uley.

In New Moon, Bella Swan (Stewart) is devastated by the abrupt departure of her vampire love Edward (Pattinson), but her spirit is rekindled by her growing friendship with Jacob Black (Lautner). Suddenly she finds herself drawn into the world of the werewolves, ancestral enemies of the vampires, and she finds her loyalties tested. New Moon is set to open on Nov. 20.