What can we learn from Stranger Things' new Season 2 episode titles?

Contributed by
Oct 9, 2017, 4:25 PM EDT

Stranger Things' Season 2 premiere is closer than ever. Just in time for Halloween, the series will take us back to the ‘80s and the enigmatic Upside Down. With just a few weeks left, Netflix has kicked its marketing machine into high gear. Today, they dropped new episode titles which may give us some insight into what lies ahead.

You might be wondering: Why are they just now releasing this information? Well, they originally dropped the titles in 2016 but the list has been completely revamped. It turns out creators Matt and Ross Duffer don’t trust the internet. Fans are much smarter than most showrunners give them credit for. The duo was worried about speculation hitting a little too close to home.

Here’s the original episode lineup.

“The Boy Who Came Back to Life”
“The Pumpkin Patch”
“The Palace”
“The Storm”
“The Pollywog”
“The Secret Cabin”
“The Brain”
“The Lost Brother”

The new titles leave much more to the imagination. The final three episodes are literally called, “Super Duper Secret.”

Chapter 1: Dragon’s Lair
Chapter 2: Trick or Treat Freak
Chapter 3: The Pollywog
Chapter 4: Will the Wise
Chapter 5: Dig Dug
Chapter 6: The Spy
Chapter 7, 8, and 9: Super Duper Secret

What can we glean from these? Chapters 1 and 5 (Dragon’s Lair and Dig Dug) are titles of ‘80s-era video games. "Chapter 2: Trick or Treak Freak" probably references Halloween, which appears to be the backdrop of the new season. And "Chapter 4: Will the Wise" could be a nod to the character Will Byers (Noah Schnapp). Outside of that? Yeah, the Duffer Bros. are playing this pretty close to the vest.

Check out the following clip that features the titles alongside some spooky graphics.

What do you think it all means?

(via ThePlaylist)