Whedon, Moffat and Martin score 2013 Hugo Award nominations

Contributed by
Apr 1, 2013, 10:30 AM EDT (Updated)

 The World Science Fiction Society has released its list of nominees for the annual Hugo Awards, and as usual, there are a few names you'll recognize.

Now in its 60th year, the Hugo Award is one of the greatest honors a sci-fi creator can ever hope to earn. Past winners include legendary sci-fi writers like Robert A. Heinlein, Frank Herbert, Philip K. Dick and Ursula Le Guin, as well as writers and directors like Joss Whedon, Steven Moffat and Guillermo del Toro. This year Moffat picked up three nominations for three different episodes of Doctor Who: "The Angels Take Manhattan," "Asylum of the Daleks" and "The Snowmen." Whedon is also up for more Hugos, earning nods for The Avengers and The Cabin in the Woods. Among the other nominees are George R.R. Martin (for the Game of Thrones episode "Blackwater"), John Scalzi (for his novel Redshirts), Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (for their comic series Saga) and Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro (for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey). 

Check out the full list of nominees below. The Hugo Awards will be presented at the 71st annual World Science Fiction Convetion (LoneStarCon 3) in San Antonio, Texas.

Best Novel (1,113 ballots)

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

Blackout by Mira Grant (Orbit)

Captain Vorpatril's Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi (Tor)

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed (DAW)

Best Novella (587 ballots)

After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress (Tachyon Publications)

The Emperor's Soul by Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications)

On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard (Immersion Press)

San Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats by Mira Grant (Orbit)

"The Stars Do Not Lie" by Jay Lake (Asimov's, Oct-Nov 2012)

Best Novelette (616 ballots)

"The Boy Who Cast No Shadow" by Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Postscripts 26/27: Unfit For Eden, PS Publications)

"Fade to White" by Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld, August 2012)

"The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi" by Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)

"In Sea-Salt Tears" by Seanan McGuire (Self-published)

"Rat-Catcher" by Seanan McGuire (A Fantasy Medley 2, Subterranean)

Best Short Story (662 ballots)

"Immersion" by Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld, June 2012)

"Mantis Wives" by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, August 2012)

"Mono no Aware" by Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)

Note: category has 3 nominees due to a 5% requirement under Section 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

Best Related Work (584 ballots)

The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature Edited by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)

Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them Edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Sigrid Ellis (Mad Norwegian Press)

Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who Edited by Deborah Stanish & L.M. Myles (Mad Norwegian Press)

I Have an Idea for a Book... The Bibliography of Martin H. Greenberg Compiled and edited by John Helfers (The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box)

Writing Excuses, Season Seven by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson

Best Graphic Story (427 ballots)

Grandville Bete Noire Written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse Comics, Jonathan Cape)

Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks Written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)

Saga, Volume One Written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia Written by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (Hypernode Media)

Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run Written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton and Goran Sudžuka (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) (787 ballots)

The Avengers Screenplay and directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)

The Cabin in the Woods Screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon, directed by Drew Goddard (Mutant Enemy, Lionsgate)

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson, and Guillermo del Toro, directed by Peter Jackson (WingNut Films, New Line Cinema, MGM, Warner Bros)

The Hunger Games Screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins, directed by Gary Ross (Lionsgate, Color Force)

Looper Screenplay and directed by Rian Johnson (FilmDistrict, EndGame Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form) (597 ballots)

Doctor Who: "The Angels Take Manhattan" Written by Steven Moffat, directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: "Asylum of the Daleks" Written by Steven Moffat, directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: "The Snowmen" Written by Steven Moffat, directed by Saul Metzstein (BBC Wales)

Fringe: "Letters of Transit" Written by J.J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Akiva Goldsman, J.H.Wyman, Jeff Pinkner; directed by Joe Chappelle (Fox)

Game of Thrones: "Blackwater" Written by George R.R. Martin, directed by Neil Marshall, created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)

Best Editor - Short Form (526 ballots)

John Joseph Adams

Neil Clarke

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Sheila Williams

Best Editor - Long Form (408 ballots)

Lou Anders

Sheila Gilbert

Liz Gorinsky

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist (519 ballots)

Vincent Chong

Julie Dillon

Dan Dos Santos

Chris McGrath

John Picacio

Best Semiprozine (404 ballots)

Apex Magazine Edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore, and Michael Damian Thomas

Beneath Ceaseless Skies Edited by Scott H. Andrews

Clarkesworld Edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker

Lightspeed Edited by John Joseph Adams and Stefan Rudnicki

Strange Horizons Edited by Niall Harrison, Jed Hartman, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Abigail Nussbaum, Sonya Taaffe, Dave Nagdeman, and Rebecca Cross

Best Fanzine (370 ballots)

Banana Wings Edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

The Drink Tank Edited by Chris Garcia and James Bacon

Elitist Book Reviews Edited by Steven Diamond

Journey Planet Edited by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Emma J. King, Helen J. Montgomery, and Pete Young

SF Signal Edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester

Best Fancast (346 ballots)

The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe

Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (presenters) and Andrew Finch (producer)

SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester, John DeNardo, and JP Frantz

SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (presenters) and David McHone-Chase (technical producer)

StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer (485 ballots)

James Bacon

Christopher J. Garcia

Mark Oshiro

Tansy Rayner Roberts

Steven H. Silver

Best Fan Artist (293 ballots)

Galen Dara

Brad W. Foster

Spring Schoenhuth

Maurine Starkey

Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (476 ballots)

Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2011 or 2012, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

Zen Cho *

Max Gladstone

Mur Lafferty *

Stina Leicht *

Chuck Wendig *

* Finalists in their second year of eligibility.


Make Your Inbox Important

Like Comic-Con. Except every week in your inbox.

Sign-up breaker