More info i
Credit: Warner Bros. Pictures

Wonder Woman, women writers dominate 2018 Hugo Awards

Contributed by
Aug 20, 2018, 9:47 AM EDT

Wading through a pack of evenly matched nominees is never easy for an awards body, but it’s what the Hugo Awards needed to do before announcing their winners, which the science fiction honors did over the weekend.

While the film and TV categories (noted here as Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form and Short Form, respectively) had the most recognizable titles and offered the closest parallel to typical awards-season fare like the Oscars, the awards span media as broad as fancasts, zines, and novels.

Wonder Woman may have taken home the top movie honor, but women in general were winners this year, taking home 15 of the Hugo’s 17 categories. Women also won the two categories put on by Worldcon 76 that aren’t technically Hugos (Best Young Adult Book and Best New Writer). In fact, the only two winners that didn’t credit a woman were Best Fanzine (File 770) and the winning TV episode, The Good Place’s “The Trolley Problem.” All in all, a great year for diverse women in sci-fi, ushered in by the genre’s top award.


Credit: DC/Warner Brothers Pictures

Check out a full list of the winners below:

Best Novel

The Stone Sky, by N.K. Jemisin

Best Novella

All Systems Red, by Martha Wells

Best Novelette

“The Secret Life of Bots,” by Suzanne Palmer

Best Short Story

“Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experience™,” by Rebecca Roanhorse

Best Series

World of the Five Gods, by Lois McMaster Bujold

Best Related Work

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters, by Ursula K. Le Guin

Best Graphic Story

Monstress, Volume 2: The Blood, written by Marjorie M. Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Wonder Woman, screenplay by Allan Heinberg, story by Zack Snyder & Allan Heinberg and Jason Fuchs, directed by Patty Jenkins

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem,” written by Josh Siegal and Dylan Morgan, directed by Dean Holland

Best Editor, Short Form

Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas

Best Editor, Long Form

Sheila E. Gilbert

Best Professional Artist

Sana Takeda

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Julia Rios; podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fancast

Ditch Diggers, presented by Mur Lafferty and Matt Wallace

Best Fan Writer

Sarah Gailey

Best Fan Artist

Geneva Benton

Award for Best Young Adult Book

Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Rebecca Roanhorse