Syfy Insider Exclusive

Create a free profile to get unlimited access to exclusive videos, sweepstakes, and more!

Sign Up For Free to View
SYFY WIRE Exclusives

Exclusive: Plug back into 'The Matrix Resurrections' with Mondo's vinyl soundtrack release

One pill makes you larger and one pill makes you small and the one that mother gives you...

By Josh Weiss
Matrix Resurrections PRESS

Whoa! You can now defy the digital nature of the Matrix by going fully analog with a pair of Mondo/WaterTower Music vinyl releases inspired by The Matrix Resurrections soundtrack. The movie's score was composed by the duo of Tom Twyker and Johnny Klimek, both of whom previously worked with writer-director Lana Wachowski on Cloud Atlas and Sense8.

SYFY WIRE is pleased to exclusively download the artwork for both options: The Matrix Resurrections — Original Motion Pictures Soundtrack 2XLP (with a limited edition “digital rain” edition, of which there will only be 3,000 copies) and The Matrix Resurrections: The Remixes 2XLP (with limited edition “Red and Blue Pill Twist” edition that is capped at 1,000 copies).

“There’s a powerful and distinct musical legacy here. In my opinion, The Matrix trilogy is one of the great scores of all time. And what’s particularly fantastic about it is that it was also, to my knowledge, one of the first film scores that so implemented electronic music and connected it with progressive late-modern orchestral music," Twyker told SYFY WIRE in a statement. "It started a movement, which we are paying tribute to with this music. And yet, this film is playful and emotional with complex development, open in every direction. Johnny and I felt our challenge for the music was to pay tribute to The Matrix lineage and also support this cinematic endeavor of expanding that legacy to explore new direction. That needs to be represented in the music and that is what we are trying to investigate musically.”

“We spent several months working on material for The Matrix Resurrections, building the main themes, crafting alternative arrangements and electronic variants," added Klimek. "We had a lot of fun mixing electronics with classical orchestra. The technology has come so far since I started scoring film."

The Matrix Resurrections - Original Motion Pictures Soundtrack, which is also available on 2x 180 Gram Black vinyl, contains all 24 tracks specifically composed for the long-awaited sequel. The slipcase features silhouettes of Neo (Keanu Reeves) and Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss), with the parallel lines of green Matrix code superimposed into the foreground.

Matrix Soundtrack Front Cover PRESS
Matrix Soundtrack Gatefold And Discs PRESS
Matrix Soundtrack Discs PRESS

You can check out the full track listing below:

Side A:

1. Opening - The Matrix Resurrections
2. Two and the Same
3. Meeting Trinity
4. It's in My Mind
5. I Fly or I Fall

Side B:

1. Set and Setting
2. Into the Train
3. Exit the Pod
4. The Dojo
5. Enter IO
6. Inside IO

Side C

1. Escape
2. Broadcast Depth
3. Exiles
4. Factory Fight
5. Bullet Time
6. Recruiting

Side D

1. Infiltration
2. I Like Tests
3. I Can't Be Her
4. Simulatte Brawl
5. Swarm
6. Sky Scrape
7. My Dream Ended Here

Available on on 2x 180 Gram Black vinyl as well, The Matrix Resurrections: The Remixes is comprised of 11 remixed tracks by Klimek & Tom Tykwer, Marcel Dettmann, Moderna, Thomas Fehlmann, System 01, Esther Silex & Kotelett, Gudrun Gut, Almost Falling, Psychic Health, Eclectic Youth, and Alessandro Adriani.

The idea stemmed from the composers' experience in the world of electronic music, including their collaboration on Twyker's 1998 feature, Run Lola Run. In addition, Lana currently resides in Berlin and "is connected to many DJs, remixers, producers and personalities deeply involved with associated with the underground electronic music scene — some of them for more than 30 years — and the well-known Berlin nightclub Berghain," reads the official release. "These connections and inspirations organically evolved from a remix idea into the larger inclusion of remixes on the album."

The slipcase and dust cover feel a lot more old school, featuring a rabbit that serves as a triple nod to Alice in Wonderland (used as a metaphor by Morpheus in the original movie), the new character of Bugs (played by Jessica Henwick), and the song "White Rabbit" by Jefferson Airplane (used for a Resurrections montage that pokes fun at Hollywood sequels and reboots).

Matrix Remix Front Cover PRESS
Matrix Remix Spread PRESS
Matrix Remix Discs PRESS

The track listing is as follows:

Side A
1. Neo and Trinity Theme (Johnny Klimek & Tom Tykwer Exomorph Remix)
2. Opening - The Matrix Resurrections (Alessandro Adriani Remix)
3. My Dream Ended Here (Marcel Dettmann Remix)
4. Nosce (Almost Falling Remix)

Side B

1. Bullet Time (Moderna Remix)
2. Back to the Matrix (Eclectic Youth Remix)
3. Welcome to the Crib (System 01 Remix)

Side C
1. Flowing (Thomas Fehlmann Remix)
2. Temet (Esther Silex & Kotelett Remix)

Side D

1. Choice (Psychic Health Remix)
2. Monumental (Gudrun Gut Remix)

Both vinyl sets feature original artwork by Mondo Creative Director Mo Shafeek and will be available for pre-order this coming Wednesday (Jan. 19) at The two products are priced at $35 a pop. Knowledge of kung fu is sold separately.

The Matrix Resurrections is currently playing in theaters and on HBO Max. Lana Wachowski, who directed the original three movies with her sister, Lilly, co-wrote the screenplay with David Mitchell and Aleksander Hemon.

Resurrections takes place in the modern day where Neo — back in the everyday role of Thomas Anderson — has forgotten all about his revolution against the machines. His messianic adventures alongside Neo, Trinity, Morpheus, Niobe, and the rest were simply delusions born out of the bestselling Matrix video game he designed back in the day. It's only when he meets Bugs ("as in Bunny") and a digital version of Morpheus (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II) that he remembers his true identity. But self-awareness is bad for business, prompting a fresh conflict with an updated Agent Smith (Jonathan Groff) and a new virtual foe known as The Analyst (Neil Patrick Harris).