Syfy Insider Exclusive

Create a free profile to get unlimited access to exclusive videos, sweepstakes, and more!

Sign Up For Free to View

Marvel announces six new X-Men books in Dawn of X era

By Jacob Oller
HOUSE OF X cover 1

Did writer Jonathan Hickman really announce his two new X-Men books back in March? C2E2, at which we learned of the one-two punch House of X and Powers of X, seems so distant. That's how pop culture and comics especially go, which means that Hickman isn't resting on his laurels. At their San Diego Comic-Con Next Big Thing panel, Marvel editor-in-chief C. B. Cebulski and Hickman (along with comic veterans Nick Lowe and Jordan D. White) dropped some knowledge on the future of the mutant team in a world that's seen the effects of House of X and Powers of X.

SYFY WIRE was in attendence when Cebulski explained that Ghost Rider would be the next hero on the docket, which Ed Birsson and Aaron Kuder will be writing this October. Absolute Carnage pops plenty of familiar faces into a bloodbath from Donny Cates and Ryan Stegman in August, and fans got a sneak peek at some pages at the panel. Spider-Man comes from J.J. Abrams and his son in September, introducing a new villain (Cadaverous) no less. The idea was pitched to Lowe by the Abrams in a Times Square coffee shop, and comes with art from Sara Pichelli and Dave Stewart. Marvel Comics #1000 is also on its way in August, which will introduce a new character after running through the history of the universe...but Marvel Comics #1001 will tell the story of the new character and the Eternity Mask.

But the big news was X-Men. Cebulski finally made Dawn of X official as Hickman moves to a new X-Men story after his pair of six-issue tales comes to an end. In fact, Hickman will be working on the team for the foreseeable future since he's got a long, expansive plan. Marvel had previously teased Dawn of X on Twitter prior to its announcement:

Now, however, we know that Dawn of X will be comprised of six books. October's Marauders, a team of Pyro, Iceman, Storm, Bishop, Emma Frost, and Kitty Pryde from creative team Gerry Duggan and Matteo Lolli; Excalibur, a team of Rictor, Jubilee, Gambit, Rogue, Psylocke-except-now-she's-Captain Britain, and Apocalypse from creative team Tini Howard and Marcus To; November's X-Force, a team of Wolverine, Marvel Girl, Domino, Beast, Kid Omega, Sage, Colossus, and Black Tom from creative team Benjamin Percy and Joshua Cassara; Fallen Angels, a team of X-23, Cable, and (a new) Psylocke from creative team Bryan Hill and Szymon Kudranski; New Mutants, grouping up Magik, Sunspot, Cypher, Mirage, Karma, Wolfsbane, Chamber, and Mondo from creative team Jonathan Hickman, Ed Brisson, and Rod Reis; and finally, X-Men, by Jonathan Hickman and Leinil Francis Yu, will gather up everyone else.

Phew. It looks like we'll have a whole lot of mutant action to play with while Marvel finds some way to integrate them into the MCU.

Click here for SYFY WIRE’s full coverage of San Diego Comic-Con 2019, including up-to-the-minute news, exclusive interviews, and videos.